Ladies and Gentlemen, Start Your Grills!

The funny thing about spring is that one day it’s cool and blustery and the next it’s too hot to think about using the oven for prolonged periods. Yesterday I didn’t want to have the oven on any longer than I needed while making the strawberry rhubarb pie, so I opted to cook our dinner on the grill. I love my grill. Yesterday I found a new reason to love it.

pork-loin.jpg

I grilled a half pork loin. I first rubbed it with crushed garlic and rosemary and then set it on the grill, fatty side down. My grill has a thermometer of unknown reliability, but I think it’s not too far off. I kept the temps between 300 – 400 F; most of the time the gas was at the lowest setting. I grilled this loin for about 1.25 hrs, turning a few times and watching for flare ups. It came out beautifully. This is something I’ll do again and again. I served it with salsa, corn on the cob, asparagus, and green salad.

sliced-loin.jpg

3 Responses

  1. Everything you cook is awesome and I love your desserts. But desserts are actually not my first love. The tulip cups were pretty, but when you put up a mouthwatering picture of a dead animal that beautiful, I can’t hardly control myself. MMMMMMMMeat!

  2. I, too, love the look (and smell and taste) of grilled dead animal… especially with garlic and rosemary.

    You are my hero, Fruittart! I can barely bring myself to put food on the table some days, and you are making masterpieces over there. I’d resent you if you weren’t so wonderfully kind and understanding to me all the time! *hug*

    So, instead, I’ll just admire you and wistfully dream of producing similar fare for my own household.

    Egana

  3. Egana:

    Thank you for the compliment. I want to say, “Oh, but this one was *soooo* easy!” but when I do that, you often roll your eyes at me 😉

Comments are closed.

