Not Quite Peachy Keen

Our small group has quite a few food allergy issues which makes cooking/baking a little more of a challenge . . . but there’s little I love more than conquering a baking challenge. (I’d *love* to be a member of the ‘Daring Bakers’ and participate in their monthly challenges — if you don’t know who they are, go now to one of their sites and you can find all of them from their blogrolls. There are many more talented people in the group and I love to see the monthly postings.)

But this Saturday was not the day of the kitchen victory whoop. It was a bit more of the baking pbbbbtttt!!! I was avoiding several flours: wheat, rye, corn, and spelt, cane sugar, berries, chocolate, dairy, soy, and a few other things. Somehow I got in my head that I *really* wanted to make a cherry-peach cobbler. I made two pans, one plain peach and the other cherry-peach. I used my own canned peaches, draining off the sugar syrup and adding some agave syrup and honey, sprinkling the fruit with a little nutmeg and cinnamon and a little rice flour to thicken. That part was all great.

peach-cherry.jpg

For the top I tried a cobbler topping made of white rice flour, canola oil, honey, cream of tarter, baking soda, salt, and rice milk. It was *really* white. It looked okay from the top when I pulled it from the oven:

cobbler.jpg

but the bottom of the biscuit wasn’t quite done and the rice flour was so gritty, my mouth thought I had mistakenly used sand we brought home from the beach.

beach.jpg

I was disappointed with it. Others must not have thought it was TOO awful, there were only a couple of servings left. Tonight I made the leftovers into smoothies by adding some yogurt, orange juice concentrate, and ice and zipped it in the blender. It was a little better but the grit was still there.

Lesson learned: don’t use only white rice flour. I think this would have been awesome if I had made my typical cobbler topping with flour, butter & milk and next time I’m going to try barley flour for my allergic friends!

I wish I had taken a picture of the success of the night, however. I made some peach sorbet by zipping a couple quarts of peaches in the blender with agave syrup and a little honey with some water and then froze it. It was tasty too. But I forgot the camera and then we let the remaining part sit out and thaw and then it wasn’t very pretty anymore. šŸ˜¦

Meanwhile, I’m hoping tomorrow’s project redeems the week’s baking efforts. Stay tuned!

6 Responses

  1. But they really were peachy keen. I can say this quite confidently because I had 3 helpings.

  2. You’re welcome to become a Daring Baker, just send an email to Ivonne (Cream Puff) or Lis (La Mia Cucina) and you can join in on next month’s challenge!

  3. Um, I didn’t know there was a spelt issue. When did that happen?

  4. While you were on vacation, I made an apple/pear/raisin cobbler with a topping composed of brown rice flour, barley flakes, maple syrup, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and oil. I think it was pretty good, although I didn’t care for the way the fruit itself tasted. That should have been the easy part, huh? šŸ™‚

  5. Great blog! I love your banner! Sorry that your dessert didn’t turn out so well but I’m sure the Agave Syrup and peaches whizzed up tasted just perfect!

  6. […] to make this week’s treat completely gluten-free and wanting to avoid the grit of rice flour, I decided to play with something a little different. I read ingredient lists on packaged […]

Comments are closed.

