Flattery Bread

gyro2.jpg

“They” say that imitation is the highest form of flattery so Helen should considered herself praised from afar. 😉 And she passed on the recipe from Saffron so there’s all sorts of flattery going on here.

I made the chappatis tonight as the replacement for pita in my pseudo-gyros. Next time I might try rolling them out a little thicker — this time I made them rather like a flour tortilla (which I think is how they are supposed to be but I don’t know Indian food well and I’m mixing my ethnicities here with the foods). I’d love to find something a little thicker, like naan but that doesn’t need a tandoor oven!

Anyway, Saffron mentions making these in a food processor, which I do not own, so I mixed the cottage cheese and spinach in the blender until it was smooth (and GREEN!) and then followed the recipe from there. They weren’t difficult at all and I’ll definitely make them again . . . possibly this week to use up the cottage cheese.

bread.jpg

I sliced up the leftover lamb steaks and some leftover chuck steak with an onion and heated it in a pan with olive oil, oregano, cumin, lemon juice and garlic.

meat.jpg

I put the gyros together with feta:

halfway.jpg

and topped it with tomato, lettuce and tzatziki sauce.

gyro.jpg

Oh yum! I scarfed mine down rather quickly as I was heading out the door and I took longer cooking dinner than I had hoped, so I haven’t heard the verdict from the rest of the family. But *I* loved it and would happily make these for myself! 🙂

One Response

  1. I am flattered, but most importantly I am hungry after reading this! These wraps look fantastic! Glad you made the bread and liked it. I plan on making her parathas soon.

Comments are closed.

