Lemon Cakes

Tonight I’m taking some little lemon cakes to a prayer meeting and I made some for Sunday’s student lunch here. Half of them I made in my mini-Bundt tray and the other half in regular muffin tins, as the recipe suggested. Mine all puffed up considerably more than those depicted in the cookbook. But they still received high ratings from all but Thing 4. Oh, and someone other than Betty uses 1/3 c. measures! 😉

bundt-lemon.jpg

I got lazy and didn’t want to have to juice another lemon so, when my juice was a couple of tablespoons short of the listed volume, I added a little lime juice. But this made more cakes than the recipe stated (I think the Bundt cakes are a little smaller; if I had stuck with just muffin tins it may have come out the same as the book), so I ended up juicing another lemon and making more glaze anyway. Instead of brushing the glaze on, I spooned it on top but it didn’t soak into the sides very well, so I dipped the ‘bottoms’ (top of a regular cupcake) into the glaze too, which also helps explain why I needed to make more glaze.

The glaze is really what makes these cakes great. I thought they were a little dry and lifeless without it, although I also found they were baking faster than anticipated — so half of them are darker than the other half. Still, this is a recipe I will make again and I loved the addition of lime to the glaze. Any citrus mix would be great in this.

lemons.jpg

Lemon Baby Cakes (from ‘Bite-Size Desserts’ by Better Homes and Gardens, 2006)

 

2 c. flour

2 ½ t. baking powder

¼ t. salt

 

2/3 c. shortening

1 c. sugar

3 eggs

2/3 c. milk

 

1 Tbsp. finely shredded lemon peel

 

Glaze:

2/3 c. sugar

1/3 c. lemon juice

 

Preheat oven to 350 F. Lightly coat eighteen muffin cups (I doubled the recipe and ended up with 4 dozen) with cooking spray; set aside.

 

In medium bowl, combine dry ingredients.

 

In large bowl, beat shortening with electric mixer on medium to high speed for 30 seconds. Add 1 c. sugar; beat until combined. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Alternately add flour mixture and milk to egg mixture, beating on low to medium speed after each addition just until combined. Stir in lemon peel.

 

Spoon batter into muffin cups. Bake for 18-22 minutes (I think mine only took about 15) or until toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean.

 

Cool in muffin cups on wire racks for 5 minutes. Loosen sides of cupcakes; invert onto wire racks set over waxed paper.

 

Combine glaze ingredients. Brush over warm cupcakes. Cool.

plain-lemon.jpg

