Trifling with Leftovers

I’ve been a busy girl in the kitchen this week but not so busy with blogging. I hope to catch up in the next couple of days. Thing 1 has begun to sigh at the end of cooking, announcing — well, we’ll get to eat soon . . . as soon as Mom is done taking pictures of dinner, anyway. 😛

trifle.jpg

A couple of months ago I wanted to bake a birthday cake for a couple of people in our small group . . . but I was flitting around and constantly distracted by the kids and I managed to miss nearly all of Glenna’s wonderful Secrets for A Successful Cake. I greased my pan and set it aside to cut out the waxed paper lining and I don’t know where I went next but came back and started mixing my cake and then poured it into the pan and after the batter hit the pan I cringed — oh, man, I forgot the waxed paper and I only greased, not greased and floured . . . I really don’t want to scrape this out and wash the pan and start over . . . I’ll just hope for the best. I baked it . . . too long . . . my white cake wasn’t very white 😛 Then I set it aside to cool and remembered it about *2 hours* later. Ah, crud. It wouldn’t come out. No amount of coaxing was going to get that out. I ended up tearing it to bits trying to get it out of the pan. I stuck it in freezer bags for use on a later date and ended up whipping up another dessert and abandoning the idea of a birthday cake altogether . . . no one knows what they missed out on unless you tell them . . . they didn’t know I was going to surprise them with a birthday cake so they were happy with the chocolate desserts we ended up with. 😉 We were happy to eat this trifle with leftover fruit salad, using strawberry juice rather than sherry or brandy:

trifle-side.jpg

I cut up some fresh strawberries and sprinkled a little sugar on top and let them stand for a few minutes to get the strawberries juicy.

I grated the rind of a lime and stirred it into a container of Cool Whip (since we girls are lactose intolerant I use it more often than real whipping cream).

In my bowl I layered:

cake, crumbled in smaller bits

lime Cool Whip

strawberries

cake

lime Cool Whip

leftover fruit salad with plums, pears, apples, oranges, and kiwi

cake

lime Cool Whip

strawberries

Everyone loved it and it’s a nice light dessert.

3 Responses

  1. uuuuuu yummy!!

  2. i like the idea of doing trifle with left over fruit salad and crumbly cake! my mum always does it with lady fingers or angel food cake – sometimes boxed cake. [came across your post when looking for “trifle” pictures]

Comments are closed.

