Banana Cake

I made this cake for the Worship and Theology Night for our student group. I’m thankful I can bake for students, rather than having just our family (mostly me) eating all the stuff I bake! 😉

This is a recipe that I adapted from Betty Crocker. Have you ever noticed that Betty is the only one who measures in 1/3 c increments??

banana-cake.jpg

Banana Cake

2 1/2 c. flour

1 1/2 c. sugar

3 medium bananas

2/3 c. shortening (it’s best with a little Crisco but this time I used all margarine)

1/2 c. finely chopped nuts

2/3 c. buttermilk (or soured milk)

1/2 t. vanilla

1 1/4 t. baking powder

1 1/4 t. baking soda

3/4 t. salt

3 eggs

1/2 1 c. mini chocolate chips

Heat oven to 350 F. Grease and flour 9 x 13 pan or two 9-inch round pans.

Beat all ingredients (except chocolate chips) on low speed 30 seconds, scraping bowl constantly. Beat on high speed 3 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally. Stir in chocolate chips. Pour into pan(s).

Bake 35-50 minutes, depending on size of pan used or until tester comes out clean.

Cool 10 minutes; remove from pan. Cool completely. Frost.

I prefer my own concoction of chocolate peanut butter frosting but it’s also good with plain chocolate or plain peanut butter frosting or even cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Frosting

1/2 c. creamy peanut butter

1/4 c. cocoa (more, if desired)

3 c. powdered sugar

1 t. vanilla

1/4 c. milk (or more as needed to attain proper texture)

Beat until smooth and spreading consistency.

5 Responses

  1. Some day can we have a frosting class?

  2. I can’t imagine that you don’t make good frosting, given all the yummy things you make. But, yeah, we can do frosting sometime. How about after you get back from your trip? I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow night! 😉

  3. oops! Just realized I typed in 1/2 c. chips — should be 1 c. chips . . . it’s 1/2 the pkg. You could just dump in the entire pkg if you want lots of chips! 😉

  4. i ate some of this cake as breakfast this morning. 🙂 i’m sharing some of the leftovers (it was hard for me to believe we had extra) with mullyboy’s wife today. 🙂 i hope that’s ok!

  5. I’m glad there was enough last night *and* that you’re sharing with Mrs. Mully! 🙂

    Thanks for the recipe links.

Comments are closed.

