Peanut Butter Bars

Here’s another recipe that I modified to have no wheat. The recipe originally called for graham cracker crumbs but I substituted a mixture of ground flax, brown rice flour and whole grain spelt flour. Originally I was thinking that a 1:1 ratio of flax to rice or spelt would be perfect but I ended up with a 1:3 and it was just the right amount of flax fiber, I think. I doubled the recipe to make an 11.5 x 17 inch pan so I used 1 c. flax meal (almost, it was the end of the package and nearly a full cup), 1 c. brown rice flour, and 2 c. whole grain spelt flour. I debated about adding the full amount of margarine — that’s a LOT of margarine. In the end I did put it all in, but I think it might turn out fine with only 3/4 the amount. Here’s the original recipe:

peanut-butter-bars.jpg

Peanut Butter Bars

1 c. margarine, melted

2 c. graham cracker crumbs

2 c. powdered sugar

1 c. peanut butter

1.5 c. chocolate chips

4 Tbsp. peanut butter

Blend together first four ingredients until well mixed. Spread into the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan.

Melt together chocolate chips and peanut butter. Spread on top of peanut butter mixture. Refrigerate at least one hour before cutting into bars.

******

When I made mine in the 11.5 x 17 pan, I think I cut them into 10 dozen bars.

Crystal says she uses pecan meal in place of the graham cracker crumbs so hopefully she’ll chime in with her version of this recipe. 😀 *hint, hint*

3 Responses

  1. I will post it as soon as my test and meeting are over. I have to think about how I actually made them.

  2. Ahhh! Now I’m in the midst of a peanut butter-and-chocolate craving attack! 😉

    These look great.

Comments are closed.

