Chocolate ‘Snowcaps’

This recipe actually came from Weight Watchers (1 point for each cookie), which I don’t follow at all but I know some people who do. The reason I was interested in it is that it has no egg. I’m always on the lookout for cookies/desserts that have no egg. When you know someone who is allergic to wheat, dairy and egg, it can be a challenge to find a dessert that is palatable (chocolate) and safe. But I love a cooking challenge! πŸ™‚

Oh, sure, there are plenty of options, really. If you don’t limit yourself to chocolate — shortbreads (replace the wheat with rice or spelt flour and replace the butter with nondairy margarine), fruit cobblers and crisps , wacky cake (a chocolate option), and peanut butter balls. These little cookies aren’t going to be a substitute for a flourless cake, but they *are* edible and chocolate! πŸ˜‰

chocolate-cookie.jpg
Chocolate Snowcaps

1 spray cooking spray, or more if needed
1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa (I may have used more)

1/4 cup margarine, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1/2 c. unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup all-purpose flour (I used white rice flour)

1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp table salt
2 Tbsp powdered sugar

Preheat oven to 375ΒΊF. Coat two nonstick cookie sheets with cooking spray.
Place cocoa, margarine and sugar in a medium bowl; beat with an electric mixer. Add applesauce and vanilla; beat to blend.

In another small bowl, stir together flour, baking powder and salt. Stir flour mixture into cocoa batter with a wooden spoon.

Shape batter into 48 marble-sized balls. Arrange balls 1 inch apart on cookie sheets.

Bake until set, about 8 minutes. Remove from oven and allow cookies to stand for 1 minute. Remove to wire rack and cool; sprinkle with powdered sugar.

(Note: Store extra cookies in freezer-safe containers or plastic bags to maintain their freshness.)

sugar-chocolate.jpg

Mine were larger than marble sized balls so I didn’t end up with 4 dozen (well, should have been 8 dozen since I doubled the recipe but I think I ended up with about 7 dozen). I didn’t read the part about mixing the last bit with a wooden spoon and just used the mixer. It turns out very sticky so making the balls is a bit messy — I’m sure I lost a couple of cookies worth smeared all over my fingers. I tried them both with and without the powdered sugar and it’s a definite improvement. I didn’t sprinkle it on top, I just put a scoop into a bowl and dipped the tops of the cookies into it.

5 Responses

  1. I just wanted to add that these cookies were very tasty. I enjoyed them immensely even without the wheat, eggs, and milk.

  2. I don’t think you would have enjoyed them at all with wheat, eggs, and milk! πŸ˜‰ I had tons leftover. Hardly anyone at student lunch ate any of them so I put them in the freezer. If you need a little chocolate fix after your test and meeting, come see me! πŸ˜€

    I have some peanut butter bars left too, in case Ramona wants to join you. πŸ™‚

  3. aww man. i’m totally sitting here working on resumes in seattle, and I would totally come join you for peanut butter bars. :/

  4. You are my hero!!

  5. open invitation for more of the peanut butter chocolate lovelies! πŸ˜‰ yippee! would tonight after dinner be ok to stop by? (btw, i love that the peanut butter bars are “healthy” with all that flaxseed in them). πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.

