Taste of Summer

Way back in time, at the New Year’s Eve party, I made a lime and macadamia nut tart and promised Ellie I would post the recipe. I’ve been waiting until I made it again b/c I so wanted to post pictures, now that my favorite toy is my camera!

tart1.jpg

Tonight was a perfect night for it. We had over a blogless couple that we haven’t gotten to see for a while. She has been my right arm in two catered events and I don’t think I could do it as a business without her.

I made some steak and chicken kabobs. The Husband did the skewering because I was running behind and thinking about just broiling the meat on the pan and serving it in a dish with a fork or tongs but he and Thing 1 like the metal skewers . . . if I do decide to make this food stuff into a livelihood rather than a hobby, he won’t be hired for kitchen help — each person could have an entire chicken on a skewer. πŸ˜‰

I also made asparagus. Somewhere in Mexico it is spring and there were tender little asparaguys in the Grocery last night and I couldn’t pass them up. After all, when Mobileoak and Beth picked up and headed to Seattle, I snagged their asparagus pot and have been dying to try it out. Let me just say, OH YUM! Perfect asparagus. I’ll try not to become obsessive like the artichoke & mushroom thing, but it may be hard. I love asparagus. And this pot is so sweet. Thank you Mobileoak and Beth for letting me adopt it! πŸ˜€

We also had baked potatoes and bagged salad. And the tart.

This recipe came from a Southern Living Christmas magazine a couple of years ago. The original calls for the optional addition of green and yellow food coloring. I’ll just say one word about green food coloring – BLECK! Until mathuaerknedam came over with his pie, I don’t think I had ever eaten a key lime pie before. They have milk, which isn’t great when you are lactose intolerant but I can have a Lactaid pill and enjoy dairy (although I don’t dance with cows), and I’ve always seen them in that unfortunate green color that everything is dyed for my birthday. MN’s pie was a purplish color with the cranberries and I LOVED the lime flavor in it, so when I looked at this recipe I wanted the key lime rather than juicing the less aromatic Persian limes that abound at the Grocery.

I forgot that the next time I made this I was going to try using my usual shortbread crust with macadamia nuts in it rather than the graham cracker crust, but it *IS* very tasty! Last time I garnished with real whipping cream, this time I used Cool Whip with the lime spirals and macadamia nuts.
******

Lime and Macadamia Nut Tart

Crust:

1 (5 1/3-oz) package graham crackers, crushed (1 Β½ c.)
Β½ c. macadamia nuts, finely chopped
ΒΌ c. sugar
6 tablespoons butter, melted

Filling:
6 large eggs
1 Β½ tablespoons grated lime rind
Β½ c. fresh lime juice (I used Nellie & Joe’s Key Lime)
1 c. sugar
6 tablespoons butter or margarine

Stir together crust ingredients. Firmly press crumb mixture evenly on bottom and sides of 10-inch tart pan.

Bake crust at 350F for 7-9 minutes. Cool.

Whisk together eggs, lime rind and lime juice in a non-aluminum saucepan over low heat. Add sugar and butter. Cook, whisking constantly, 8 minutes or until lime mixture is thickened and bubbly. Let cool 15-20 minutes.

Pour filling into prepared crust; cover and chill 4 hours or until set. Garnish with lime slices and whipped cream as desired.

tart2.jpg

10 Responses

  1. Sounds tasty. I’m glad the Nellie and Joes worked for you. I completely agree on the food coloring, even if my yellow-tan Key Lime Pie does confuse Alice’s grandparents. : )

  2. Summer? I always make key lime pies in fall and winter. I know key limes are available then, are they available year round?

  3. It makes sense that they would be available in fall and winter, like the rest of the citrus crops, but the flavor is cool and refreshing, not like a ‘heavy winter dessert’ but like a ‘light summer dessert’. Besides, when I get the juice from a bottle, it doesn’t matter what season it is, right? πŸ˜‰

    Right now I’m dying for a trip to the beach (never mind the calendar, February is the longest month of the year!) — and I’m ready to make ‘beach foods’, which for me typically means seafood, salads, fruits and veggies.

  4. I’ve only noticed the season because one of Alice’s relatives makes snide remarks about it not being a real key lime pie if I garnish it with Persian limes. : )

  5. Yeah. But I’m not real happy with little lime slices either, so I’ve thought about sprinkling lime zest on top of the whipped cream.

  6. The use of key limes for garnish is a waste πŸ˜‰

    I LOVE whipping cream with a little lime zest mixed in. In fact, one of my favorite desserts is to make a strawberry shortcake or trifle with lime whipping cream . . . MMMMM!!! Since we have lactose intolerance issues and guests with dairy allergies, we often use light Cool Whip and it is greatly improved with a little lime zest. I also love large bowls of sliced strawberries with the lime whipping cream/Cool Whip. It goes with other things too, like blueberry, but strawberries are a big favorite here. πŸ˜€

  7. For some reason I was just inspired to try it with whipped cream mixed with fresh grated ginger. : )

  8. That tart looks outstanding! A great flavour combo too!

  9. […] I succeeded! Too much for most people, myself included. I used a combination of recipes, mostly the lime tart filling and the lemon curd filling. I had to make a few last-minute changes, but I’ll list […]

Comments are closed.

