Sweet Hearts

Before Weird Al, which dates me enough, there was Ray Stevens! Anyone out there remember ‘Don’t look, Ethel!’ but it was always too late? I have no idea why Betty Crocker calls these Ethel’s Sugar Cookies (they have another sugar cookie recipe with confectioner’s sugar called “Mary’s Sugar Cookies”), but even though I had a Great-Aunt Ethel, I always think of The Streak whenever I hear that name. These are nice sugar cookies but you may find they disappear like a streak! 😉

Obviously, rather than frost them, I chose to top them with some colored sugar just before baking them. I also made these at Christmas and the kids especially liked the ones I made topped with green sugar and sprinkles — they thought the cookies looked like Christmas trees with lights!

sugar-three-stack.jpg

Ethel’s Sugar Cookies

¾ c. shortening (part butter or margarine)
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
½ t. lemon flavoring or 1 t. vanilla
2 ½ c. flour
1 t. baking powder
1 t. salt

Mix shortening, sugar, eggs, and flavoring thoroughly. Measure flour by dipping method or by sifting. Stir flour, baking powder and salt together; blend in. Chill at least 1 hr.

Heat oven to 400 F. Roll dough 1/8” thick (or slightly thicker) on lightly floured board. Cut with 3” cooky cutter. Place on ungreased baking sheet. Bake 6 to 8 min., or until cookies are a delicate golden color.

Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

side-sugar.jpg

2 Responses

  1. Haha! I saw Ray Stevens perform in Nashville once.

Comments are closed.

