On Parsnips: Delicious Delight of the Vegetable Kingdom

chicken-parsnips.jpg
Tonight for dinner I put several chicken breasts in the bottom of a pan and topped them with onions, carrots, celery and parsnips. I sprinkled olive oil, basil, thyme, oregano, rosemary, sea salt and pepper over the top, covered with foil and baked it. To round out the dinner, I added mashed potatoes with gravy, green salad and fresh fruit salad.

I’ve never used parsnips before and I must wonder why now. I first told the kids they were sort of like ‘white carrots’, as way to introduce them as nearly familiar. Thing 1 thought they were ‘eh, ok, not great’, Thing 2 was unimpressed, Things 3 and 4 were clueless. I loved them, or at least I should say I was pleased with the taste after years of hearing that they were an awful root vegetable. Many thanks to Heather for giving me the impetus to finally try them.

I have another that I’m tempted to use in place of turnips in the Breadchick’s pasties later in the week. Turnips are another vegetable I have not tried but those pasties look yummy!

