Chocolate Filbert Revels

revel-stack.jpg

I know, Valentine’s Day seems to be unending here, but I didn’t want to post this too early and spoil the surprise in the care package I sent out.  It should arrive tomorrow and the recipient must have something better to do than read my blog on a Friday night so I’m posting two recipes from it tonight! 😉

Chocolate Filbert Revels

1 c. chocolate chips, melted
1 c. filberts, finely chopped

1 c. butter
2/3 c. sugar
¼ t. salt
½ t. vanilla
2 c. flour

granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Melt chocolate chips over water bath or in microwave. Stir in chopped nuts; set aside.

Cream together butter, sugar, salt and vanilla. Add flour. Add melted chocolate mixture, but don’t mix in the chocolate completely.
Form balls, about the size of a walnut, and roll into sugar. Place on an ungreased baking sheet; flatten with a glass.

Bake 10-12 min, careful not to overbrown. Makes 3-4 dozen.

revel-plate.jpg

