Happy Heart Scones

scone.jpg

I will admit to being something of a scone snob. The correct way to pronounce it is /skawn/, of course, not with a long o, or worse, as I once overheard someone at Panera call it, /skoooon/. πŸ˜›

This recipe, adapted from a Betty Crocker recipe called I-Love-You Scones, is NOT a typical scone recipe. It doesn’t have lots of cold butter or nice heavy cream or even half-and-half. This is a scone that even a dieter could enjoy, yet it isn’t missing the nice dense texture that a good scone should have. It also has that bit of jam in the middle but it’s a pleasant result.

1 egg
1/3 c. milk
1/4 c. applesauce
2 T. melted margarine or butter
1 t. almond extract
2 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
Β½ c. sliced almonds
1/3 c. granulated sugar
3 t. baking powder
Β½ t. salt
raspberry or strawberry preserves
powdered sugar

Heat oven to 400 F. Grease cookie sheet.

Beat egg slightly in medium bowl. Stir in milk, applesauce, margarine and almond extract. Stir in remaining ingredients, except preserves and powdered sugar, until just moistened.

Drop dough by 1/4 cupfuls about 3 inches apart on cookie sheet. Pat into heart shapes about 3 inches wide and Β½ inch high, using fingers dusted with flour. Make shallow well in center of each heart, using back of spoon dipped in flour (I use my fingers). Place Β½ t. preserves in each well. Bake 12-15 min or until golden brown. Sprinkle with powdered sugar while warm. Serve warm.

Also good with lemon extract and/or lemon zest in place of almond extract.

scones-cooling.jpg

The original recipe calls for making 9 scones. I often make 12 so they are a bit more dainty. Today I made 6 — big, happy hearts! πŸ˜€ I used more of the marionberry jam that I used in the crab cakes last week.

3 Responses

  1. Absolutely too cute! I’ll be making these soon!

  2. Or if you’re from the UK, you might say skon! However you pronounce it, they look lovely!

  3. Thanks! Yes, Freya, that’s the pronunciation I was trying to get across with the /aw/ — I just don’t think it should rhyme with ‘ice cream cone’ πŸ˜€ But it’s probably b/c I first learned the word from watching BBC programming as a kid so it’s the *right* way! πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.

