Blueberry Pineapple Buckle

buckle-plate.jpg

Sunday was the student lunch and I ended up with some leftover crushed pineapple. My philosophy is if a girl can’t figure out how to make a dessert out of leftover pineapple, she really needs help 😉 This is one of my favorite ‘coffeecake’ recipes. I ended up adding a few too many blueberries and I didn’t drain them very well, so it’s extra soft and berry-y. The older two kids scraped up all they could. I think this was originally a Betty Crocker recipe. I did not make the pineapple sauce and I usually don’t.

******

Blueberry-Pineapple Buckle

1 can (8 1/4 oz) crushed pineapple in syrup
1 1/4 c. all-purpose flour
½ c. sugar
1/4 c. (1/2 stick) margarine or butter, softened
1/4 c. shortening (Crisco, not butter flavored)
½ c. milk (or plain or lemon yogurt)
1 ½ tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. grated lemon peel, if desired (this is worth it!)
½ tsp. vanilla
1/4 tsp. salt
1 egg
1 c. fresh or frozen (thawed and well drained) blueberries

Crumb Topping (below)
Pineapple Sauce (below)

Heat oven to 350 F. Drain pineapple, reserving syrup for Pineapple Sauce.

Mix flour, sugar, margarine, shortening, milk, baking powder, lemon peel, vanilla, salt and egg in large bowl. Fold in blueberries and pineapple.

Spread in ungreased square pan, 8x8x2 inches.

Prepare Crumb Topping; sprinkle over batter.

Bake 45-50 minutes or until golden brown and toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Prepare Pineapple Sauce.

Serve warm buckle with warm sauce.

9 servings.

Crumb Topping
½ cup sugar
1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup margarine or butter, softened
½ teaspoon ground cinnamon or nutmeg

Mix all ingredients until crumbly.

buckle.jpg

Pineapple Sauce
2 Tablespoons packed brown sugar
1 teaspoon cornstarch
Reserved pineapple syrup
1/4 teaspoon lemon juice

Mix brown sugar and cornstarch in a 1-quart saucepan. Add enough water to reserved pineapple syrup to measure 2/3 cup; stir into brown sugar mixture. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until mixture boils. Boil and stir 1 minute; remove from heat. Stir in lemon juice.

Notes:
This makes a wonderful coffee cake by leaving off the pineapple sauce.

serve-buckle.jpg

3 Responses

  1. OH YUM! Looks really moist and finger-licking good. I’ll have to give this a shot. And yeah, have to agree. If you can’t figure out how to get a dessert out of leftover pineapple, you might as well hang up the apron.

  2. I had pineapple in the fridge toying with the idea of carrot, pineapple, raisin muffins and, then, I read your recipe. I tried it with half ww flour. I didn’t have any lemon peel on hand . . . so I did without it. The family enjoyed it, (except those that don’t like blueberries). Delicious!

  3. Whoohooo!! C delurked and commented on my blog . . . and it’s after 9 PM! I feel honored. 😉

    I’m glad you liked the recipe but someone doesn’t like blueberries?! Gasp! 😀 It’s fun to know that others try these recipes and like them too. Although, muffins would have been yummy too!

Comments are closed.

