Stuffed Mushrooms

I was inspired by Brilynn at Jumbo Empanadas and her special creations for the Food Holidays. Today is ‘Stuffed Mushroom Day’. I have been saving some cans of crab meat that were originally intended for the New Year’s Eve party and, boy, am I glad I used them this way!! Actually, tonight’s dinner is going to be the source of three separate posts . . . the Husband came home and wondered if it was my birthday and he forgot! 😉

finished-shroom.jpg

I didn’t follow a recipe for these and, as usual, I didn’t measure anything, so this is going to be a ‘free form’ recipe.

I bought four ‘baby portabella’ mushrooms — but they were still a good 2.5-3 inches across. I cleaned those up and scraped out the pretty ridges inside the cap. I saved two of the stems and chopped them into a bowl. I added half a can of crab meat, an egg white, a dab of mayo (2 tsp?), a pinch of breadcrumbs, a couple of squirts of Tabasco, about a tablespoon of very finely minced turkey ham, and about a 1/4 cup of finely shredded mozzarella b/c I didn’t have any more interesting cheese on hand.

mushroom-prep.jpg

I put a bit of that on top of each mushroom, to fill the caps. I topped it with some more finely shredded mozzarella.

uncooked-shroom.jpg

I baked them in a 350 F oven for about 20 minutes.

shroom-pan.jpg

Then I served them with dinner. The kids, who moaned in agony that I would cook yucky blecky mushrooms (despite my telling them it wasn’t for them, but a treat for Mom and Dad), suddenly wished I had made more than 4 because, man, these are GREAT!!!

finished-shroom-2.jpg

One Response

  1. I just want to point out that I managed to make a meal with mushrooms that didn’t also have artichokes . . . or chicken . . . so the fetish thing isn’t entire obsessive 😉

Comments are closed.

