Orange Pineapple Muffins

orange-pineapple1.jpg

Today I was looking for a different muffin. We don’t have any old bananas in the house and I’m tired of them anyway. So I was happy to see this recipe in one of my cookbooks. One of my favorite treats in the summer when I was a kid was orange-pineapple ice cream. Mmmm.

Orange Pineapple Muffins

 

1 can (8 oz.) crushed pineapple

1 ¾ c. flour

¼ c. packed brown sugar

2 t. baking powder

½ t. salt

2 eggs, slightly beaten

¾ c. milk

3 Tbsp. butter or margarine, melted

½ c. chopped walnuts (I used pecans)

2 t. grated orange peel

 

Drain pineapple.

In large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.

In small bowl, combine eggs, milk and butter. Stir in pineapple, nuts and orange peel.

Make well in center of dry ingredients. Pour in milk mixture. Stir just until moistened.

Spoon into greased muffin cups. Bake at 400 F 15-20 minutes. Serve warm.

 

Original recipe said it makes 16 muffins, but it makes 12 very nice ones.

opmuffin.jpg

 

 

One Response

  1. Yum! I should make muffins on the weekend so I can take them to work for breakfast during the weak. Okay, adding ingredients to grocery list . . .

Comments are closed.

