Recipe of the Day — Spicy Chicken Wings

Before ‘Buffalo Wings’ were a popular thing, I had this recipe from Kikkoman brand soy sauce. It’s a sticky mess for finger foods but, oh so good!! πŸ˜‰ After the first time I made it, I don’t think I’ve ever made less than a double batch again.

*******
Spicy Chicken Wings

2 lbs chicken wings (about 10 wings)
4 T. soy sauce, divided
1 T. dry sherry (sake also works)

2 T. vegetable oil
1 clove garlic, minced
1 t. minced fresh ginger root
Β½ c. chicken stock or water
2 t. sugar
Β½ t. crushed red pepper
1 T. water
2 t. cornstarch

Disjoint chicken wings; discard tips (or save for stock).

Combine 1 T. soy sauce and sherry in large bowl. Stir in chicken; set aside.

Heat oil in hot wok or large skillet over high heat. Add chicken and cook until lightly browned, stirring occasionally. Drain off excess oil.

Add garlic and ginger; stir fry 1 minute.

Combine chicken stock, remaining 3 T. soy sauce, sugar and red pepper; pour over chicken. Cover and simmer 15 minutes. Uncover; simmer 5 minutes longer, or until chicken is tender.

Blend water and cornstarch; add to pan. Cook and stir until sauce boils and thickens.

5 Responses

  1. Beth made a variation of this last night and it was great!

  2. Oh, yay! I love to hear that people actually try these recipes and like them. πŸ˜€ What did you vary, Beth?

  3. We had no fresh ginger, so used ginger powder (two pinches), and substituted flour for cornstarch… and we didn’t have actual wings, so we used chicken breasts instead. And Carl accidentally put a whole bouillion cube in the 1/2 c. of water, so it was a little salty. And we threw the rest of the sauce over whole wheat spaghetti. But even with all our changes, it was like super-duper yummy.

  4. When I was a single grad student I would make this and put the sauce on rice. I could stretch it out into several meals. πŸ˜‰

  5. Hah! I totally made more of it to put on noodles yesterday evening, though I screwed up the extra and it wasn’t as good as the first batch. But it was still pretty yummy. Mmm, now I have to go eat something! πŸ˜€

Comments are closed.

