Recipe of the Day — Cookies

Actually, I made these a couple of days ago and the men had some at their Bible study here and I took them to the Ladies’ Night Out last night. Although they are called ‘Raisin Crisscross Cookies’, I didn’t use any raisins. 🙂 I didn’t have any on hand and wanted something more ‘Christmasy’ so I used dried cranberries. They are yummy.

********

Raisin Crisscross Cookies

½ c. shortening (part butter or margarine)
¾ c. sugar
1 egg
½ tsp. lemon extract
1 ¾ c. flour
¾ tsp. cream of tartar
¾ tsp. soda
¼ tsp. salt
1 c. raisins

Heat oven to 400 F.

Mix thoroughly shortening, sugar, egg, and extract. Measure flour by dipping method or by sifting. Blend flour, cream of tartar, soda, and salt. Stir into shortening mixture. Mix in raisins.

Roll in 1-inch balls. Place about 3 inches apart on ungreased baking sheet. Flatten with fork dipped in flour, making a crisscross pattern.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes.

Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

Variations:
Substitute ½ c. chocolate chips for raisins.
Substitute dried cranberries for raisins. Try it with orange extract.

Notes:
I usually double this recipe and still only end up with 4-5 dozen cookies. I think I must roll my balls about 1-¼ to 1-½ inches.

You want these cookies to be set and firm when you pull them from the oven, but not browned.

