Recipe of the Day — More Muffins

This recipe was given to me by a former pastry chef at a swanky hotel. She calls them ‘Poverty Pumpkin Muffins’ b/c when the fall/winter holidays are upon us and we are applying more of our food budget to special meals and stretching it out elsewhere, these muffins do nicely with things generally found in the pantry around Thanksgiving.

********

Poverty Pumpkin Muffins

1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2/3 cup vegetable oil (not corn oil)
1-16 oz can pumpkin (not pie mix)
2 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
ยฝ teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon cinnamon (plus a pinch of nutmeg and cloves if you like or 1 t. pumpkin pie spice)
1/4 teaspoon salt
raisins, cranberries, walnuts, dates, as desired

Whisk sugar and eggs and add oil slowly, whisking until all combined. Stir pumpkin into sugar mixture.

Combine dry ingredients together and add to sugar mixture. If desired, stir in ยฝ-1 cup nuts or dried fruit.

Fill muffin cups 2/3 full, greased if unlined or with paper muffin cups. Bake at 375 F until done, about 25 minutes.

Notes: This is also a great hit as Pumpkin Cake baked in a tube pan and either sprinkled with powdered sugar or frosted with cream cheese frosting. When making them as muffins, particularly, I usually use half whole wheat flour/half white, sometimes I throw in flax, wheat bran and/or wheat germ also — those are the kinds of grains I tend to keep on hand and apply to muffin recipes to add fiber goodness.

These muffins freeze well.

5 Responses

  1. These muffins have an amazingly smooth and ‘soft’ texture . . . another one for all those seekers of a ‘soft cake like muffin’. But I usually replace the oil with applesauce, which does not make for the same emulsion in the first mixing of this (I just skip the whisking step altogether when I’m making with applesauce) but you don’t actually lose much in texture in doing so. You won’t really miss the fat. Bonus! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. mmmmm, muffins! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. my mom made pumpkin pie the other day and i thought to myself (notice how i did not say this out loud or else i would have been smacked to last thursday) i bet m makes great pumpkin pies. so ive been thinking about you ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. these are so good! They sholud be called something more positive than “poverty” muffins. I always eel very rich when I smeel them baking, and the swarthy spiciness wafts through my kitchen. Then there is the eating – oh yeah! If this is poverty, we are certainly making the best of it!

  5. sory about the typos.. I should have read it before I submitted it..

    oops…

Comments are closed.

