Recipe of the Day — Muffins

I keep getting search hits for a banana recipe with applesauce — and while I mention in the use of applesauce in the Banana Blueberry Muffin recipe, it is not essentially a banana applesauce flavor. The following recipe is one I made from the previously mentioned recipe but tweaked so that it is primarily the apple flavor that one tastes. Enjoy!

apple-muffin.jpg

************

Whole Grain Apple Streusel Muffins

2 ripe bananas, mashed

3/4 cup chunky applesauce (I used to make my own but you can use ‘store-bought’)

½ cup packed brown sugar

2 eggs

2 Tablespoons oil

1 1/4 cups white flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

Streusel Topping (recipe below)

Mix together bananas, applesauce, brown sugar, eggs and oil. Mix together dry ingredients and stir into banana mixture. Spoon into muffin pan which has been prepared with nonstick spray or paper muffin cups. Mix and sprinkle Streusel Topping on batter. Bake at 350 F about 20 minutes or until done.

Streusel Topping:

2 Tablespoons margarine

2 ½ Tablespoons wheat germ

1 Tablespoon flour

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

½ teaspoon cinnamon

Mix until crumbly.

Notes: If wheat germ is not available, use a total of 1/4 cup flour. This original recipe of mine is dated March 1999.

4 Responses

  1. I just added the photo today, 1/15/07, and the muffin is slightly different than the recipe. I added ~ 1/4 c. ground flax as part of the whole wheat and, b/c I didn’t have any wheat germ on hand, I also used flax in its place in the topping.

  2. I shared out my master muffin page you printed out for me (banana blueberry muffin recip with all sorts of notes) and now I canno tfind it! ARGH!

    Thanks for having these recipes online so I can come get it again. *hug*

    Egana is heating up the kitchen to make something yummy again…

  3. I’m glad the site is useful to people other than just me! 😀 Enjoy the muffins!

  4. yummm-yummy! We really liked the apple ones, with the crunchy stuff on top. Instead of using homemade applesauce (like you do) I used 1/2 store-bought, and then sliced up an apple (no peeling) and cooked the slices in the store bought, and then added it to the mix. Chunky, a little bit healthier, and a lot quicker (only 1 apple to slice up).

    They were so good!!!!

Comments are closed.

