Recipe of the Day

This is one of my kids’ favorite ways to eat chicken; in fact, I often have to cook twice as much chicken as for a usual dinner b/c they love it so much. If I’m lazy or don’t have the ingredients on hand (which is frequent), I’ll just stick some chicken strips in a ziplock bag with some spoons of yogurt, some chili sauce and some peanut butter and smoosh it around for a while and let it rest in the fridge until I’m ready to cook it. That’s the abridged and modified version. When I make it just for us, I even skip the skewers and just put the chicken directly on a foil covered baking sheet and flip them with tongs half way through the cooking. It makes a great picnic food — it was our lunch today, in fact.
*******

Spicy Skewered Chicken with Peanut Dip

(from a Land of Lakes recipe book called ‘Holiday Memories’ but I can’t give date and other info b/c the cover of the book was lost in a tragic accident involving a washing machine in 1998.)

Peanut Sauce

1/4 c. peanut butter

1/2 to 3/4 t. crushed red pepper (I use less or leave out for the kids)

1/8 t. ground ginger

1 t. finely chopped lemon grass (or sub chives and lemon peel)

1 T. chili sauce (I often use more)
1 T. peanut oil (I usually leave this out — there’s enough fat in this)

Dip (I don’t even make this any more but this is the original recipe)

3/4 c sour cream

2-3 T. coconut milk or milk

Chicken

1 lb boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into 16 strips

1 T. firmly packed brown sugar (I don’t think it really needs this with the sugar in the peanut butter — it helps it brown, definitely)

2 t. finely chopped lemon grass

2 t. peanut oil

1 t. soy sauce

16 wooden skewers

In small bowl, with wire whisk, stir together all peanut sauce ingredients. Set aside to use in dip and chicken.

In small bowl stir together 2-3 T. peanut sauce and all dip ingredients. Cover; refrigerate until ready to use.

Heat broiler. In medium bowl combine 2 T. peanut sauce, chicken, brown sugar, lemon grass, oil and soy sauce; toss to coat chicken. Thread 1 strip chicken on each wooden skewer. Place on broiler pan. Broil 4 to 5 inches from heat, turning once, until chicken is fork tender and golden brown (4 to 5 minutes). Serve warm with peanut dip.

6 Responses

  1. yummmm-mee!

    We are going to have to try this next week instead of “chicken fingers” that I season, coat with flour, and fry. This sounds way far more tastier.

    …by the way, I know you like things clean over there, but next time I recommend wiping gently with a damp cloth. I know none of my cookbooks could withstand even the gentle cycle. *wink*

  2. Looks tasty. Though I was puzzled for a bit when you mentioned the sugar in the peanut butter. I easily forget that the food choices my family makes are often not the norm. For example, our peanut butter is nothing more than crushed peanuts, without any added sugar, salt, etc. It then made me wonder what other “unspoken ingredients” need to be accounted for in recipes.

  3. Like chili sauce. Somehow I doubt that my sauce is the same as yours. : )

    Which brings up an unsightly aspect of my culinary bigotry. I’m generally averse to using “impure” ingredients (like premade sauces or spice mixes), because I’m too much of a control freak and mad scientist. I look at recipes that fall for hot sauce, ketchup, BBQ sauce and Worcestershire and think “Why! You can get that flavor with vinegar, tomatoes, pepper, and brown sugar.” I may use a sauce in the development of a recipe, but the second or third time I’ll have gone all deconstructivist on the ingredients. Some things I haven’t, like sausage and tortellini, but I tend to think of those things as shortcomings.

    And while the last paragraph may seem somewhat unrelated from the first, here’s where it comes together. I almost always make my purchases based on the ingredients list (with some consideration to the nutritional info). I don’t buy a hot sauce that has vinegar as the first ingredient. And if your chili sauce does and mine does not, I may need to compensate by adding vinegar to the recipe.

    Or I could just ask what sauce you use, and try that. : )

  4. Well, I used the whole bottle so I can’t give a list of the ingredients to you . . . it was Meijer chili sauce (gasp! wheeze! someone find a paper bag for mathuaerknedam!) 😀

    I have a few things that I’m particular about, or that I would like to be particular about if I could devote more time and energy to the whole thing, but much of my cooking is what I refer to as ‘quick and dirty’ cooking 😉 When I was in college my analytical chemistry prof would talk about how to get the precise result and then there was the ‘quick and dirty method’ that would get you an approximate answer in a hurry. So I think of my cooking as giving the approximate flavor of good food and it could be improved upon if I took the time to do it ‘right’. In the last three years I’ve become more willing to approximate in some areas and less in others but I’ve never really gone ‘all natural’ b/c I’m too lazy! 😛

    If you ever decide you want to make your own sausage, I have a recipe book from pre-WWII that has a sausage recipe . . . you start with 100 lbs of fresh pork. I can also pull out recipes for possum. Bleck! One of the ways my love of history and food comes together is that I love cookbooks. I think of old cookbooks as a sociological history statement — everything from how a woman is named (in the 40s it was always things like Mrs. Fred Smith and never Martha Smith) to international perspective. I think the cookbooks say a lot about culture and society.

  5. egana:

    Remember that duplex we lived in near you? I had my cookbooks on a shelf above the washing machine in the eat-in kitchen and one day this one (it’s one of those papberback at the checkout stand cookbooks) fell in before I put the clothes in and I didn’t realize it until I went to put the clothes in the dryer. The first few pages were lost but I’m amazed that most of the rest of the book, while the pages are now wrinkled, actually survived reasonably well. It’s not the recommended method for wiping off the cookbooks! ;-D At least now the washing machine is not in the kitchen!

  6. While I don’t anticipate making sausage anytime soon, I would be interested in seeing the sausage recipes. I’d like to make a vegetarian form of sausage gravy, and it would be nice to know what goes into the sausage! I had a good gravy once, but that was before I comitted recipes to paper, and now it’s gone. : (

Comments are closed.

