Recipe of the Day (Respite from Artichokes)

Tonight’s dinner was fun to make and tasty too. My favorite restaurant is a lovely little local place called Radio Maria that serves funky food that you won’t find on a Generic America fast-food or chain menu. Just so you know what kind of recipes I favor! 😉

*******

Caribbean Chicken with Black Beans and Rice

Rice:

1 c. white or jasmine rice

liquid reserved from draining a small can of pineapple chunks (~ 1/2 c.)

chicken broth to bring liquid up to about 2 c.

zest of one lime

olive oil

Bring to a boil. Cover, turn heat to low for ~20 min.

Meanwhile, in a saute pan over medium heat:

olive oil

4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed

2 cloves of garlic pressed or minced

a couple of shakes from the bottle of Caribbean Jerk seasoning

When nearly cooked through, add in:

small onion, diced

bell pepper, diced (red & yellow)

can of black beans, drained

Stir a little and let the onion get a little tender.

I then mixed the chicken/bean mix with the rice and the pineapple chunks and topped it with:

mango, diced

kiwi, chopped

more red bell pepper

green onion, chopped

But to do it again, I think I would make the fruit mix separately so that when I reheat leftovers the fruit doesn’t suffer but gets to be added with that cool freshness.

I served it with salad and it made a nice, colorful and flavorful one-dish meal and it was ready in about 20-25 min.

5 Responses

  1. Forget the cooking class for the kids, take me on and teach me! Yummy!

  2. Radio Maria is my favorite too. ummm-ummm!

  3. We also enjoy going to Radio Maria and ordering something we don’t recognize.

    I have a pint jar of Jamaican Jerk seasoning from Frontier Co-Op. Interested?

  4. mathuaerknedam:

    THANK YOU!! for the jar of seasoning 😀 Despite your best warning, I couldn’t help but stick my nose in it when I got back to the car this morning. Yum!! Can’t wait to try it. Probably one night this week as I have some chicken in the freezer that needs a job and doesn’t have a current assignment. How very kind of you.

    Have you ever used Jerk seasoning in a soup? I think I’ve only seen it used as a rub and in the seasoning of a dish that is relatively dry so I’m wondering if more liquid would draw out the seasoning in a less pleasant way? Not that this is particularly soup weather — I don’t like hot food in hot weather. Just a question of curiosity.

  5. You’re quite welcome. There’s quite a bit there and a little bit goes a long way. Feel free to share it with anyone else you think might like it, or keep it all to yourself.

    You stuck you nose in it and survived? Alice makes me open it outside because it will will get to get from across the room. She was still feeling it an hour later.

    I’ve put it in soup with good results, though I’ve only added it to my bowl right before eating. I just had some on rice and beans lat night; I’ve put it on a lot of different things. Jerk seasoning and marinara sauce is good on a meatball sandwich.

Comments are closed.

