Hay, Hay, It’s Donna Day In Deuces!

How did we get so lucky? In the last HHDD event (the wonderful tribute to Donna Hay facilitated by Bron Marshall) there were two winners, so each selected a recipe for twice the Donna Hay pleasure (and even in two languages)! Meeta of What’s For Lunch, Honey? (perfect blog title!) chose a chicken satay for us, while Tartasacher of Mil Postres (thousand desserts, I love it!) selected a lovely grilled fruit with yogurt. It was the perfect pair for our lunch today.

At our house, anything that screams ‘Meat On A Stick’ sounds like a winner. I tweaked the Donna Hay recipe slightly to match what I had in the kitchen and it turned out so perfectly I’m afraid the kids will ask me to make it again and I won’t be able to repeat it! Tartlet 1, who naturally tends toward carnivorous behavior, ate *six* skewers of meat (seriously, that’s as much as pictured above!). Instead of cashews I used pistachios and I added some grated lime rind to the marinade, giving the resulting skewers an odd green tinge that wasn’t entirely appetizing at first look, but the taste was wonderful. My other modifications were minor. Thank you Meeta for choosing a winning recipe that is sure to be repeated in our house.

For the grilled fruit and yogurt, I had intended to make something slightly different but the bottle of nutmeg that I *know* I purchased this week could not be found. No doubt someone will find it in the potato bin next week or in the drawer with yogurt cups or something absurd! Instead I used the cinnamon as called for in the recipe but found other ways to make it unique.

Because I was using my homemade yogurt, made this time with whole milk, rather than a thicker commercial yogurt, I didn’t mix it with cream. I added the sugar and cinnamon and then grated some orange rind into the bowl, not bothering to clean the grater after the lime I had used in the chicken marinade, so there were bits of lime zest also. It had a lovely flavor. The kids who thought they weren’t going to like this dessert at all were practically licking their plates to get the last drops!

The sugar grilled fruit would work fabulously for dessert for two, but was a bit more time consuming for six. I was using a smallish pan and opted to only clean it after every two batches rather than after each one. I was also finding the sugar was not adhering symmetrically to the fruit so after a couple of batches I started just sprinkling some sugar in the bottom of the pan, placing the fruit slices on top, and sprinkling the tops with a little more sugar. That worked very well for me. I chose two varieties of apples — Jazz (oh, YUM!) and Pinata (not as spectacular but good), pears, and peaches for my fruit. Although I originally chose those because I like them with nutmeg, they also work fabulously with cinnamon and orange. As I said, we were all scraping up the last bits of our dessert today. Thank you, Tartasacher, for a fabulous simple dessert that the kids have already requested that I not only make again, but teach them to make also!

Recipes after the jump.

Chicken Satay for Six
1 cup lite coconut milk (it’s what was in the pantry)
1 1/2 cups pistachios
1 tsp fresh grated ginger
2 Tbsp soy sauce
1/2 tsp ancho chili powder
zest of one lime

5 chicken breasts, trimmed and sliced

Place the coconut milk, pistachios, ginger, soy sauce, chili powder, and lime zest in a blender and process until well combined.

Place the chicken in a plastic zip bag, add the coconut milk mixture and toss to coat. Marinate in the fridge for 1 hour.

Thread the chicken onto skewers. Broil in the oven until done.

Sugar Grilled Fruit with Yogurt
2 pears, cut into 1cm slices
2 apples, cut into 1cm slices
3 small peaches, sliced
1 cup brown sugar

Cinnamon Orange Yoghurt
2 cup plain yoghurt
2 Tbsp caster (superfine) sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
zest of one orange

Press the cut sides of the fruit into the brown sugar. Heat a non-stick frying pan over high heat. Cook the fruit a few pieces at a time for one minute each side or until the sugar has melted and is golden. Wipe pan clean and continue with remaining fruit.

Combine yogurt ingredients in a bowl and stir.

Pile the fruits onto serving plates and serve with the yoghurt.

5 Responses

  1. Hello Melody:

    Your participation is wonderful. All recipes are delicious. Thank you. The roundup 9 february and the votations among participants from 16 february.

    Best regards

  2. That is a seriously interesting satay recipe! May have to give it a try.

  3. They both look wonderful. I also love meat on a stick and am looking forward to breaking out the grill in warmer weather.

    This would be a wonderful summer patio meal.

  4. Both your satay and your sugar grilled fruit look delicious! And homemade yogurt…yum!

  5. [...] es una receta excelente, con una variedad de frutas muy atractivas y una sugerente salsa de yogur: Frutas asadas con salsa de yogur y canela. Melody ha respetado muchísimo la receta original pero dándole su elegante toque personal Melody [...]

Comments are closed.

