Happy Thanksgiving!

We are actually having a low-key day at home rather than a big festive Thanksgiving.  Because I don’t really like turkey very much, we’ll be having a ham later and we’ll spread out some of the Thanksgiving favorites over the entire weekend rather than trying to stuff ourselves with them today. In addition to the ham we’ll have Praline Sweet Potatoes, a different twist on mashed potatoes that I hope to report on later (and maybe with the potato water I’ll also make Potato Bread & Focaccia from my first Daring Baker challenge), green peas, green salad, and Thanksgiving wouldn’t be Thanksgiving without pie — especially Cherry Pie and Crumb Top Apple Pie.

I actually went shopping today.  There were a few things I wanted to pick up and Meijer really tempted me with the Super Jumbo George Foreman Grill on sale today only for $35 (reg $80 at Meijer). I debated the purchase in the store because the Next Generation grills have removable plates for easier cleaning and come in pretty colors, but I really liked my old Foreman grill and it wasn’t *that* hard to clean. So today, price and size (the ‘super jumbo’ is almost twice as large the other one they had) won out over looks. By the time I wear this one out I can get a large, pretty one with removable plates for less money ;-) I’m excited to have a counter top grill in the kitchen again for winter!

I hope you have many things to be thankful for today and someone to share it with!  I’m thankful for my family, for my friends, for the many blessings in my life and for you, my blog readers.  Happy Thanksgiving!

