Chocolate Cravings

After posting about my quick chocolate fix in Florida, I think the blog developed a craving. Of course it was the blog, not me! ;-) And after I was helping The Husband in the garage today and got my fingers smashed (no broken blood vessels or anything dramatic but two fingers are still tender), I decided The Husband was on his own in the garage and I’d go feed the blog what it craved most — chocolate.

Naturally I had to give it a taste test to make sure it was safe for the blog. I made chocolate ganache; unfortunately I started by just pouring a little cream into a pan and didn’t measure at all and the end product was a little thinner than it should have been so I’m giving an approximate amount below, based on what I think would make a better result. I allowed the mixture to cool while I made chocolate cupcake batter. I spooned some batter into each cup and then some ganache and then more batter. Since the batch made 2 dozen cupcakes, I put the ganache in the fridge while the first pan baked and it was much firmer for the second batch. I think these came out much better and in the future I would make sure the ganache was rather firm before putting it in the tin. After they were cooled, I took what was remaining of my ganache and added a little more chocolate and some shortening to give a firmer finished product and used that for a little frosting on the tops of the cupcakes. What results is an excellent antidote for the most intense chocolate cravings. These were much better tasting after they had been refrigerated and the chocolate was firmer.

Chocolate Craving Cupcakes

Ganache:
1/3 c. whipping cream
1 1/2 c. dark chocolate chips

Heat cream in a heavy pan until simmering. Remove from heat and stir in chocolate chips until melted and smooth. Chill until firm.

Cupcake:
2 c. sugar
generous 3/4 c. sour cream (it was what was left of a container)
1/2 c. butter
3/4 c. buttermilk or soured milk
2 extra-large eggs
2 c. flour
1 1/2 t. baking soda
3/4 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1 1/2 t. vanilla
4 squares unsweetened chocolate, melted

Preheat oven to 350 F.

In a large mixing bowl, beat all ingredients on on medium-high speed for three minutes, scraping bowl as needed.

Line muffin tin with paper liners. Spoon batter into each cup. Drop a spoonful of ganache in the center of each cupcake. Cover with another spoonful of batter. Bake for 20 minutes or until top springs back when lightly pressed.

Cool on wire racks. If desired, frost.

Frosting:
To remaining ganache add:
1/4 c. whipping cream
1/4 c. sugar
2 Tbsp. shortening
1/2 c. chocolate chips

Stir until melted and smooth. Spoon onto cupcakes and chill until serving.

3 Responses

  1. My blog gets cravings too. One week it made me make 3 different couscous cakes.

  2. mmmmmmmm. honestly, chocolate is chocolate, so don’t feel bad about the thin ganache! it’s like, nobody ever said molten lava cakes were bad :)

    hope your fingers are ok!

  3. If I had a blog, it would crave truffles – I know it!

    The best, most delicious ganache is going to be 1 1/3 cups cream, 1 pound high-quality chocolate (I recommend E. Guittard, Valrhona, Scharffen Berger) and melt those together, being careful not to burn the chocolate. Add 1 tablespoon softened butter, a pinch of salt, and 1/2 to 1 teaspoon desired flavoring (vanilla, peppermint extract, etc). Pour, let set, and enjoy! You can also let it cool and beat it for a thick frosting. I recommend reducing the cream slightly for that.

Comments are closed.

