Bacon Breakfast

When I make muffins they almost always have a little sweetness to them. I like fruit in them — apples, berries, bananas, whatever is on hand, as long as it is sweet. I have made savory muffins, generally to go with soup or some other lunch or dinner entree, but not for breakfast fare.

When the men at our church announced they were having an all day retreat this coming Saturday, I volunteered to make them some snackages. It’s a reflexive reaction for me — someone mentions a gathering and I volunteer to make food! I made them a few sweet muffins and then I saw this recipe for Bacon Cheese Muffins and decided that would definitely suit the manly tastebuds. And let me tell you they suit the feminine ones too! Oh, YUM! What’s not to love about bacon in your muffins?

These are not low-fat diet muffins; they use 1/3 c. of bacon drippings for the fat, but that adds to the flavor. I momentarily thought about lightening these muffins. I think it would be easy enough to do — substitute turkey bacon for pork, canola oil for the bacon grease, use skim milk, use a reduced fat cheese, and the muffin would probably still be tasty and not contribute to a heart attack. But I wanted to try it with the full flavor for the first time, just to see how they were. I have another package of bacon in the fridge so I might have to make more of these, but at some future date I’d like to try them in a lighter version and see if they still seem like an awesome breakfast.

I doubled the recipe and rather than fry the bacon in strips and then crumble, I chopped the bacon first and then fried it. Also, the recipe calls for ‘crunchy nugget-like cereal’, which I assume would be like Grape-nuts, but I had some Fiber One that looks like Purina Rabbit Chow and put it in a bag and crushed it a little with a rolling pin so it wasn’t in such long strings. It worked just fine.

Bacon Cheese Muffins (from The Muffin Cookbook, 1989)

1/2 pound bacon
vegetable oil
1 egg, beaten
3/4 c. milk
1 3/4 c. flour
1/4 c. sugar
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 c. (4 oz.) shredded cheddar cheese
1/2 c. crunchy nugget-like cereal

Preheat oven to 400 F.

In large skillet, cook bacon over medium-high heat until crisp. Drain, reserving drippings. If necessary, add oil to drippings to measure 1/3 c. In small bowl, combine dripping mixture, egg and milk; set aside. Crumble bacon; set aside.

In large bowl, combine flour, sugar and baking powder. Make well in center. Add dripping-egg mixutre all at once to flour mixture, stirring just until moistened. Batter should be lumpy.

Fold in bacon, cheese and cereal. Spoon into greased or paper-lined muffin cups, filling about 3/4 full. Bake 15 – 20 minutes or until golden. Remove from pan. Cool on wire rack.

Makes 12 muffins.

8 Responses

  1. Oh this is just evil. Evil I tell you….

    In nothing but the best ways evil :-)

    I know what I’m making for Sunday brunch this weekend that is for sure.

  2. What amazing muffins! My kind of breakfast!

  3. Do you recommend a good cardiologist with this recipe? I am so making these!!!

  4. I have to add — I saved out 9 of these for us. After The Husband tasted one, he went back for another.

    Thing 1, my little carnivore, ate two for breakfast and then had two or three more for a snack. She says, “Chocolate chip muffins are pretty good, but these are the *BEST*! Even if you make more of them, you won’t have very many left” and then proceeded to groan in her enjoyment of the bacon.

    Thing 2 said, “blech”.

  5. Mmmm… Bacon. I’m looking forward to these. And as a person allergic to turkey, I thank you for using the real thing!

    Reduced fat cheese? After variety, the highest fat content is my usual choice of cheese. The low fat versions don’t taste like cheese, they taste like plastic (to me, anyway). And if it doesn’t taste good, I might as well avoid all of the fat and calories and abstain altogether. :)

  6. I had one of these last night. It was so good that I think even the plastic bag that they were stored in would be delicious.

  7. [...] Boursin Style Cheese from Fresh Approach Cooking, Caterpillar Bread from Fresh From the Oven, Bacon Cheese Muffins from Fruit Tart, Ragu Finto from FXcuisine, Chinese Noodle Soup from Got No Milk, Spinach Fritters [...]

  8. I know what I’ll be making for breakfast this weekend…

Comments are closed.

