Waiter, There’s Something In My . . . Topless Pear Tart!

Cook Sister! announced a theme for the 11th WTSIM to make us all giggle — topless tarts. How could a Fruittart not participate? (No worries, this is *not* about to become an X-rated blog!) I have given you a number of topless and fruity tarts over the year, but this called for something a little different. For one, I was baking it the same day Crystal was coming back so I wanted to share the calories treat and make something without egg, wheat, or dairy, and for another I’ve been obsessing about pears lately. I don’t know. It’s fall. They taste good. It’s not all bad.

I wanted the pears to be somewhat firm but not as crunchy as my not-yet-fully-ripened pears tended to be. I took some of the ideas from this pear tart and made a pear blueberry tart with a spelt crust. The crust was a bit too tender, but entirely edible. ;-) You can use your own favorite pastry crust or regular wheat flour would work perfectly well here also.

Pear Blueberry Tart

Crust:

1/2 c. whole grain spelt flour
1/2 c. white spelt flour
1/4 t. sea salt
1/2 c. shortening
2-3 Tbsp. rice milk

Combine flours and salt. Cut in shortening. Add rice milk and mix until it is moistened and forms a ball. Roll out crust on lightly floured surface. Press into tart pan. Bake at 400 F about 15 minutes, or until golden brown.

Filling:

3 pears, pared and sliced
splash of lemon juice
pinch of nutmeg

1/2 – 3/4 c. blueberries
1/2 c. sugar
1 Tbsp. water
1 1/2 tsp. corn starch

Stir pears, lemon juice, and nutmeg together in a heavy pan over medium heat until pear is flexible but still somewhat firm. Remove from pan and place in tart crust.

Add blueberries and sugar to the juices in the pan. Over medium heat, stir until blueberries are softened and sugar is melted. Combine water and cornstarch and add to the blueberries, stirring constantly until thickened. Pour over the pears.

3 Responses

  1. This was a very yummy treat to have waiting on your seat. Pears and blueberries, how can you go wrong? I think I might have to go out of town more often…

  2. I knew you’d come up with something great for this theme! It looks amazing!

  3. Wow, that looks fantastic! I love the idea of combining pears and blueberries and it looks too beautiful. Thanks so much for daring to go topless in this month’s WTSIM :)

Comments are closed.

