Here Figgy, Figgy!

I first had fresh figs about 10 years ago on the pecan farm of friends in New Mexico and haven’t had them since. A couple of weeks ago I found some lovely fresh figs in the Grocery, but I passed them up not wanting to buy a treat that might only be enjoyed by me. However, everyone’s favorite Cream Puff (Ivonne) announced the next Sugar High Friday event featuring, you guessed it, figs! So I went back to the Grocery to fetch some, visions of a fresh fig tart recipe from a French cookbook dancing in my head. But, alas, the shelves were bereft of fresh figs. And again none this week. Bah.

By this time, I had developed an obsession with making something figgy. When I turned to the dried figs and picked a package of Calimyrna figs, which I’d never tried before, I also became fixated on having them with orange and coconut.

I made some adjustments to a favorite orange scone recipe of mine to make these, adding an orange frosting to make them more suitable for a ‘sugar high’ event:

Obsession Scones (aka Orange, Coconut & Fig Scones)

1 ¾ c. flour
3 Tbsp. sugar
2 ½ t. baking powder
¼ t. salt
6 Tbsp. butter
6-8 dried figs, chopped
½ c. coconut
1 Tbsp. grated orange peel
1 egg, beaten
4-6 Tbsp. half-and-half
1 egg white, beaten

Heat oven to 400F. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Cut in butter. Stir in figs, coconut, orange peel, egg and just enough half-and-half so dough leaves the sides of the bowl.

Turn dough onto lightly floured surface. Knead lightly 10 times. Divide dough in half. Pat each half into a 6-inch circle. Place on an ungreased baking sheet. Brush with egg white. Cut each circle into 6 wedges, but do not separate.

Bake 10-12 minutes or until brown. Immediately remove from baking sheet; carefully separate wedges. Frost if desired.

Frosting:

juice of one-half of an orange
1/2 t. grated orange peel
1/2 t. vanilla
2 Tbsp. melted butter
2 c. powdered sugar

Combine all frosting ingredients and stir until smooth.

And then when I was trying to post this, wordpress crashed during saving and ‘server maintenance’ issues ate it. I doubt it was as tasty as the real thing, though! ;-) Thank you, Ivonne, for hosting such an inspiring event!

One Response

  1. If you gave these to me I would become obsessed in an instant! They’re gorgeous and it’s such a pleasure to see figs being used in one of my favourite teatime treats!

    Thanks so much for taking part in SHF #35!

Comments are closed.

