SHF #33 — Tropical Paradise

I almost missed another Sugar High Friday b/c I didn’t see the post until this afternoon! Whew! Thank you, Tartelette, for keeping a list of sweet food events on your blog or I would have missed it. :-)

illinois1.jpg

(Illinois. Not tropical. Not paradise.)

When you think of Illinois, a number of things may come to mind . . . corn, soybeans, flat, flooding, tornadoes, etc. . . . but no matter how optimistic or magnanimous you are, ‘tropical paradise’ just does not come to mind. I’ve never lived in a tropical place. PA, MD, WA (east side, not even the coast), NM, and now IL, none of them could be considered tropical. I have had the opportunity to visit two tropical places while on vacation, however — St. John, USVI and Hawaii.

hawaii.jpg

(Kaena Point State Park, Oahu)

For Christmas 2001, The Husband’s Parents very kindly gave us the gift of watching Thing 1 and Thing 2 so we could get away for a week’s ‘honeymoon’ for our 10th anniversary (Sept 11, 2002, in the days before we had a digital camera, so no pictures). After much debating, we settled on the Caribbean and went to Caneel Bay for eight lovely days. It was actually hurricane season and it was the one year anniversary of the notorious 9/11 terrorist attacks so there weren’t many other people there with us. It was delicious. When I think of St. John, aside from the great time I had making out with The Husband and swimming with sea turtles, the *next* thing that comes to mind is the mangoes. I know I’ve said a million times before and I’ll say it again — I LOVE MANGO.

mango-slices.jpg

My next tropical experience was Hawaii. The Husband had a microscopy conference in Honolulu — how the man suffers for his work! Once again, I was able to join him, sans Tartlets, for a few days of beach fun. We had a great time walking along the beach, snorkeling in Shark’s Cove, and driving around the island. During the conference we stayed in the Renaissance Ilikai which was featured in a Hawaii Five-O story and a shot of Jack Lord standing on the balcony of the penthouse suite is in the opening credits of the series. After the conference we spent the last two nights in a much cheaper place, Makaha Resort. It was near the end of the road going to the northwest of the island and was a golfing destination (neither of us golf) and the quality wasn’t like Ilikai but neither was the price AND when I got home and realized I had left my dress hanging in the closet and called them, they shipped it home to me without charging me a cent. When I think of Hawaii, I remember the wonderful smell as we drove through the pineapple plantations during the harvest. That and going to a cheesy place for dinner where we met all the people there — the bartender from IL, the girl from PA, the guy who sang karaoke and could perfectly sing every old country and western song they had — and drinking Lava Flows. It was fun.

pineapple-harvest.jpg

(harvesting pineapples in Hawaii)

So, when I read that Mary at Alpineberry had selected ‘Tropical Paradise’ as the theme for Sugar High Friday 33, I was flooded with thoughts of mango and pineapple and that was swiftly followed by coconut, macadamia, lime, and a few other things that all jumbled together in my head to produce, what else? A fruit tart. I ended up not using lime and picked orange instead. The crust has coconut and macadamia nuts, the filling has orange and pineapple, and the top has mango, kiwi, mango, and while blueberries aren’t tropical, they are in season and go beautifully with mango and more mango! ;-)

mango-tart.jpg

Tropical Paradise Tart

Crust:
1 c. flour
1/3 c. finely ground macadamia nuts
1/3 c. brown sugar
10 Tbsp. cold butter
1/3 c. coconut

Mix flour, nuts, and sugar. Cut in butter. Add coconut. Press into the bottom of a greased and floured tart pan. Bake at 400 F for 10-15 min or until golden brown. Cool completely.

Filling:
4 oz. Neufchatel cheese
1/2 c. pureed pineapple
2 Tbsp. frozen orange juice concentrate
1 t. vanilla
1/2 – 3/4 c. powdered sugar
1 Tbsp. custard powder
1 c. whipped cream or Cool Whip

Beat cheese until smooth. Add pineapple, orange juice concentrate, and vanilla and beat until smooth and creamy. Add powdered sugar and custard powder; mix well. Stir in whipped cream. Spread into cool crust.

Top with mango, kiwi and blueberries.

9 Responses

  1. Even though I haven’t been to Hawaii since I was a young child, I can still recall the wonderful scent of pineapples in air at the plantation we visited. Thanks for participating in SHF.

  2. Glad you liked Hawaii! I am blessed to call this place home, and ku’u one hanau (the place where I was born- in Hawaiian). Unfortunately I am moving to LA….remind me why again? :(

  3. I made mine this weekend and will post tomorrow. glad I could be of service!!! Looks very refreshing!

  4. Mary: Thanks for hosting!

    Anuhea: Blessed, indeed. It’s a beautiful place.

    Tartelette: Can’t wait to see it!

  5. Most definitely tropical!

  6. “not paradice”

    well, probably not, but I love the openness of illinois and the different colors adn textures of the grass..

    and the sky…

    you can see for miles!

    I really think Illinois is beautiful. And I enjoy living here, and driving out of town into the vastness of field and sky.

    There, I said it. Mothergrace probably just fell out of her chair…

  7. Egana: It’s good *someone* likes Illinois! ;-) I don’t think of Illinois has having such a great sky view but probably b/c we’ve been in the West, like Montana where you can see for miles and then there are mountains on the horizon. There are worse places we could live, though, and I’m trying to be content with IL despite our hearts longing to be somewhere a couple days drive west of here.

  8. I would never think of paring blueberries with tropical fruit, but I bet it pairs well the tartness of most tropical fruits.

  9. Wow…that dessert looks amazing! I would devour that thing! I wish I had dessert-cooking skills. lol

Comments are closed.

